Home Issues 11-08-2019 Disaster Declaration Will Help SC Farmers Cope With Drought

Disaster Declaration Will Help SC Farmers Cope With Drought


U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue recently designated six counties in South Carolina as natural disaster areas due to drought. They are: Bamberg, Calhoun, Kershaw, Lexington, Orangeburg and Richland.

 The secretarial declaration will allow farmers in these six counties and contiguous counties to apply for certain emergency loans.

Agriculture in South Carolina has suffered under the “flash drought” that affected the southeastern United States over the past several months. In particular, SCDA has received reports of dry pasture leading to livestock sales and culling, and low crop yields.

Despite recent rainfall, 78% of the land in the state remains under drought status of some form.

 “I’m relieved that some South Carolina farmers stricken by drought will have access to these emergency provisions, and I thank Secretary Perdue for taking action,” South Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture Hugh Weathers said. “This drought developed so rapidly, but we may be seeing its effects for a long time.”

 Farmers in disaster-designated areas seeking assistance should reach out to their local FSA office.

The Department of Agriculture encourages farmers to continue reporting drought conditions through a mobile-friendly online tool at agriculture.sc.gov.

Leave a Reply.